Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Skip to main menu
Navigate Up
Sign In

 Lifelong Learning Programme

Lifelong Learning Programme (LLP) enables individuals at all stages of their lives to pursue stimulating learning opportunities across Europe. It is an umbrella programme integrating various educational and training initiatives. LLP is divided in four sectorial sub programmes and four so called 'transversal' programmes.
The sectorial sub programmes focus on different stages of education and training and continuing previous programmes:
  • Comenius for schools
  • Erasmus for higher education
  • Leonardo da Vinci for vocational education and training
  • Grundtvig for adult education
The transversal programmes aim to complement the sectorial sub programmes and to ensure that they achieve the best results possible. They aim to promote European cooperation in fields covering two or more of the sub-programmes. In addition they seek to promote quality and transparency of Member States' education and training systems.
Four key activities focus on:
  • Policy cooperation and innovation
  • Languages
  • Information and communication technologies - ICT
  • Dissemination and exploitation of results
The Jean Monnet programme also falls under the LLP umbrella, in addition to the sectorial and transversal programmes, The Jean Monnet programme stimulates teaching, reflection and debate on the European integration process at higher education institutions. 
Eurydice is an institutional network for gathering, monitoring, processing and circulating reliable and readily comparable information on education systems and policies throughout Europe. Although it forms part of the LLP transversal programmes, Eurydice does not provide financial support or fund projects. Eurydice is a Network consisting of a European Unit and National Units. The European Units are funded by the European Commission, while the National Units are funded by the governments that establish them. They may also receive financial support from the European Commission.
Source: EACEA